Millen Georgia

DUI Lawyer

Driving under the influence is a serious crime in all 50 states, and its penalties can be particularly harsh in Georgia.

You could be facing a hearing, a suspended license, a fine, or even jail time.

Duff Ayers is here to help you. He will do everything in his power to make sure you receive a fair sentence, working closely with you during your case to help ensure your rights are always protected.

“I highly recommend Duff Ayers. My DUI was totally dismissed and charges dropped. Great communication. I had his cell phone number to communicate whenever I had a question, and he always promptly answered. I am from out of town and couldn’t have asked for a better attorney or better results. Always there to help. If you need an attorney, Duff is your man!”
~ Melissa Bassman
“I highly recommend Duff Ayers. My DUI was totally dismissed and charges dropped. Great communication. I had his cell phone number to communicate whenever I had a question, and he always promptly answered. I am from out of town and couldn’t have asked for a better attorney or better results. Always there to help. If you need an attorney, Duff is your man!”
~ Melissa Bassman

DUIs in Georgia, explained

DUI stands for “driving under the influence,” which is also known as “driving while intoxicated” in some places.

It’s important to note that “under the influence” means alcohol, drugs, or any other illegal substances. This list includes marijuana and prescription drugs, if they’re taken over the prescribed amount.

Because Georgia is an implied consent state, if you get pulled over by a police officer while driving under the influence, you have technically already consented to a breathalyzer test. You still have the right to refuse, however, although you may be subject to some penalties.

Georgia does not a have an exception for DUI first offenders, either, which means that a DUI conviction cannot be cleared from your record — even if it was your first offense.

Consequences of a DUI

A DUI conviction could affect how much you pay for your car insurance, and you could lose your license altogether.

Here are the typical penalties for DUI charges in Georgia:

1st offense
  • 1-10 days in jail
  • $300-$1000 fine
  • 12 months of probation
  • Community service
  • Suspended driver’s license
  • Clinical substance abuse evaluation
  • DUI Risk Reduction School
  • Attendance at a MADD Victim Impact Panel
2nd DUI
  • 3-15 days in jail
  • $600-$1000 fine
  • 12 months of probation
  • Community service
  • Suspended driver’s license for 4-18 months
  • Clinical substance abuse evaluation
  • DUI Risk Reduction School
  • Attendance at a MADD Victim Impact Panel
  • Surrender license plate
  • Photo published in news
3rd DUI
  • Misdemeanor charge
  • Habitual violator designation
  • 15 days to 12 months in jail
  • $1000-$5000 fine
  • Community service
  • 2 year suspended driver’s license with no permit
  • Clinical substance abuse evaluation
  • DUI Risk Reduction School
  • Going to a MADD Victim Impact Panel
  • Surrender license plate
  • Photo published in news
Felony DUI

After being arrested for a 4th DUI within a 10 year period, you could be deemed a “habitual violator” and charged with a felony DUI charge. Clearly, these penalties would be much more severe than the ones listed above for the misdemeanor charges.

Contact Duff Ayers to get started on your defense today

DUI charges in Georgia are very serious, and you have a limited amount of time to contest your suspended license. Contact Duff Ayers as soon as you receive notice of your charge to get started on your defense today.

Contact Duff Ayers to get started on your defense today

DUI charges in Georgia are very serious, and you have a limited amount of time to contest your suspended license. Contact Duff Ayers as soon as you receive notice of your charge to get started on your defense today.

Send Us a Message: